The Peak of Life

Mountain

Throughout life it’s fair to say that every one of us experiences events that we feel are insurmountable but just like any mountain with the right support and encouragement we find a way to clamber up until we stand at the top feeling proud of our accomplishment.

I guess this must start early on in childhood, although at the time maybe not quite so profound. From that very first step to our first leap from the couch to the sea of cushions on the floor (pretty sure we all did that as kids) we learn new abilities and skills. We seem to have an innocence as children that allows us to believe we can do or be anything we want, something that seems to decline the older we get when self-doubt creeps in.

As we move through the years, and particularly as we become teenagers we seem to start questioning and comparing ourselves to others, perhaps in the way we dress or the way we look. We start becoming more self-conscious and occasionally forget to go for what we want, worrying more about what our mates will think.

For me being a teenager brought with it probably the biggest challenge I will ever face……. Parenthood! Bam…. overnight my whole life changed, no more crawling in from the pub at some ungodly hour, no more shopping with my mates at the weekend ………instead I now had this teeny tiny person (my son was 3lb 6oz when he was born) and a huge responsibility to care for him to the best of my ability……. I won’t lie I was petrified! I got through it though, despite the ups and downs and even went on to have three more children who I all love dearly!

As much as I loved and was grateful for being able to be a stay at home mum financially I had to find a job when my second eldest started school. This was extremely daunting for me because at the time I had been at home for nearly 9 years! It’s fair to say my confidence was pretty low and the thought of attending an interview filled me with dread, but I pushed myself out of my comfort zone and went for a job at the local school. I was thrilled when I got offered the position and it renewed a spark in me and my self-belief!

2016-06-10 21.05.53

Our circumstances however changed after welcoming our fourth child to the world which meant I wouldn’t be able to go back so I had to find something else that would fit. This is when I took the step to become a childminder and had to go back to school so to speak by completing coursework as a requirement to registration. Following on from this I had to be Ofsted inspected…….gulp……those four hours of being watched were perhaps the longest in my life but do you know what I got through it and I can safely say I was over the moon with the result! This was a pivotal point in my life because I suddenly realised I was capable and I was good at my job, and perhaps my darling children hadn’t quite sucked all my brains from me!

I now realise that I can achieve anything I set my mind too and I genuinely believe that because of my renewed confidence I have been pushing myself to learn new skills and abilities. Infact since joining a networking company I can now use Instagram, blog, tweet, create ads and help support my team. Maybe little things to some but to me this has truly opened my eyes to the fact the only box I am in is the one I create for myself. I believe that we have to embrace challenge and give it our all, for if we don’t we simply don’t learn what we are truly capable of.

2016-06-10 20.49.58

 

Yours confidently

Emma

 

 

Leave a Reply

