Going against the grain!

 

Grain

Once upon a time I used to have this idea that finding a 9-5 job was the done sensible adult like thing in order to provide an income and security for my family. Oh how my life has changed and my views alongside it! After witnessing friends struggle with redundancy threats, juggling childcare and having limited family time I decided to go against the grain and take the plunge to become self-employed!

I truly believe taking this step has actually offered me more security, by this I mean I am in CONTROL! I get to pick the days/hours I wish to work, select my holiday periods, get bank holidays as standard and most importantly I am in charge, I can’t begin to describe how empowering that feeling is.

I am aware though that sometimes circumstances change and as a childminder I can often find myself in the situation where I may need to start looking for new mindees, yes this can be stressful as I still have bills to pay………but do you know what that’s ok because I have a backup plan!

About six months ago a friend introduced me to the world of MLM (Multi-Level Marketing for those of you unfamiliar with the term) and after some thought I jumped at the chance to give it a go. I know I am a very friendly bubbly person who loves to meet to new people so it seemed perfect, my husband however refers to my people skills as being able to talk the hind legs off a donkey! Whilst I love the company and products I have struggled to find the time and energy that it really needs me to commit to so when I came across Lifetree World and this unique concept of no selling I became intrigued! Needless to say after looking into it, I decided it was a no brainer really!

What I love most about Lifetree World is that it totally goes against the grain of your traditional MLM business, offering an exciting chance to be part of something revolutionary. Earning through simply shopping………yes you read that right and I have the proof sitting in my back office! Not only can I fit it in and around all my other commitments but working alongside a team of such talented ladies has helped me to develop my own skills, for example I would never have dreamt in a million years I would be sitting here today learning how to blog, but that’s what happens when you have a great team, you help to inspire each other.

I have learnt most importantly that the only limits in my life are the ones I place on myself, for example yesterday I took the chance to cook a beef stew in the slow cooker without a recipe to hand, anyone with OCD will understand this was a real challenge! Well I gave it a go, throwing in my tin of chick peas from my recent LTW hamper for good measure, crossed my fingers and waited anxiously for dinner time to arrive.

Do you know what I learnt?

  • I can actually cook, the kids approval and clean plates is proof of this.
  • I actually do like chick peas!
  • Sometimes taking a chance provides a positively surprising outcome!

So all in all here’s to going against the grain and having faith in the choices we make today, tomorrow and for the future!

Love

Emma x

 

3 thoughts on “Going against the grain!

  1. Wendy says:

    I couldn’t agree more – taking the leap into ‘self employment’ means you’ve put yourself in the driving seat and the journey and ultimate destination is up to you! Freedom… wonderful! May your dreams come true xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • teamsequoiaatlifetreeworld says:

      Thank you so much Wendy! Going self employed has enabled me to fit work in and around my family which has been so important. May your dreams come true too 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

